Best Dressed at the 2013 Met Gala

With a punk theme, there were obviously not going to be very many simple looks at the Met Gala this year (I did find a few!). I had fun putting my classic, reserved style aside and adopting a punk state of mind for the evening.

For the record, I never had a punk phase. My childhood wardrobe came from Gap and Limited Too, so I’m probably not the best judge of what is punk. Here’s my attempt at a punk-themed best dressed list.

sjp met gala, sjp giles deacon met gala, sjp met gala mohawk

My favorite looks of the night were actually the ones that were custom made. Sarah Jessica Parker won best dressed without question. The dress is Giled Deacon, but who’s looking at that? Check out those custom plaid Louboutin boots and Philip Treacy mohawk! No one was even on that level. It had me reminiscing about this McQueen look of hers.

cara delevigne met gala, cara delevigne in burberry met gala

I was glad to see Cara Delevingne put that drug mishap behind her and made an appearance on the carpet. And she did not disappoint in custom Burberry. Did you really expect the current face of Burberry to wear anything else?

anne hathaway met gala, anne hathaway blonde hair

One of the biggest surprises of the night was seeing Anne Hathaway with platinum blonde hair. That something I would’ve never expected from her. Major punk points for that. P.S. She was wearing Valentino. Im glad he forgave her after that Oscars snub.

gwyneth paltrow met gala 2013, emma watson met gala 2013, carey mulligan met gala 2013

Ok I had to pick a few simple dress! Everyone else may have been hating on those who didn’t fully adopt the theme, but I probably would have gone the simple route myself.

Gwyneth Paltrow was so not punk, but it’s hot pink Valentino! The cut out across the neckline was a unique and subtle way to show off her collarbone which I loved.

I’ve never seen Emma Watson show off so much skin. Somehow even though she’s barely covered she still looks elegant. How is that even possible? It must be that magical Prabal Gurung dress.

Carey Mulligan‘s Balenciaga LBD was very understated compared to her Prada dress  last year. Out of all the simple looks this was my favorite. I want to steal this dress! The giant safety pin was just the right punk touch and it can easily be removed so the dress can be worn for any occasion.

This entry was posted in celebrity fashion, fashion, met gala and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

