How to Travel With Just a Carry-on

Another perk of having a simple taste in clothes is that it makes packing a breeze. I can easily fit everything I need for a 10 day trip in my carry-on.

With spring break coming up, I’m sure many of you are heading to warmer climates. Here’s how to pack lightly and not have to pay to check a bag. And you know what that means…more money for margaritas!!

plane outfit, how to travel lightly, how to travel with just a carry-on

I consider jeans, a sweatshirt and running shoes my travel outfit. They take up the most room, so I wear that on the plane. It’s not the most fashionable look, but who cares what you look like in an airport.

casual outfit, how to pack lightly, spring break packing

I wear a t-shirt, shorts, bag and sandals for walking around, shopping and sight-seeing.

swim outfit, simple beack outfit, j. crew anchor bikini, how to pack lightly

To save space, bring bikinis you can mix and match. Don’t forget a cover-up and flip flops too.dinner outfit, simple shirtdress, how to pack lightly, spring break packing

I like to keep it simple, so I wear a classic shirtdress and clutch to dinner. Pack one nice pair of sandals you can wear with a casual or dressier outfit.

activewear, spring break packing, how to travel lightly

I like to run on the beach so I always bring workout gear.

As far as toiletries go, I only bring the essentials. For me that’s a toothbrush and some makeup. I buy travel size shampoo, conditioner and toothpaste when I get there because they last the week and then I don’t have to bring them back with me.

And there you have it. Pack just the essentials and you’ll never have to check a bag again!

This entry was posted in fashion, travel, vacation style and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to How to Travel With Just a Carry-on

  1. kittehluvs says:

    This is a great blog post, I hope you don’t mind if I reblog this, let me know:) I am leaving for my Miami vacation next week and this is a perfect list of me, as I always like to overpack and overthink things. I do get 1 free checked bag but I’m concerned that I’ll want to pack too much, haha!

  2. simple + easy… great tips!

  3. kittehluvs says:

    Reblogged this on Sandpaper Kisses and commented:
    I’m leaving for Miami on friday for vacation and thought this would be a perfect blog post for the next few days. It’s time to pack!

  4. lycly says:

    What a great post! I need all the help I can get with packing – I have the hardest time ‘packing light’ but these tips are great. I love the dinner outfit the most – so pretty!

  5. Pingback: Links à la Mode: The IFB Weekly Roundup | IFB

  6. Pingback: Fashion Bloggers Favorite Spring Trends

  7. anjelais says:

    This is such a helpful post! I love travelling, but I’m terrible at flying with just a carry-on. This is so great.

  8. Pingback: Links a la Mode 4 | Attire Club

  9. Pingback: Links à la Mode |

  10. Alexandra says:

    I’d love to use these tips, but I always travel with a 25 kilo luggage, though it’s become overwhelming at times.

    Alexandra
    http://theshoependant.com

  11. Pingback: Featured in Independent Fashion Bloggers Links à la Mode (Again!) | asimplestatement

  12. I have been coveting that blue dress for a while. To wear casually to school. Do you think its see through ?

  13. Pingback: Links à la Mode: March 14th

  14. Pingback: Links à la Mode, Again! | What Would You Wear If...

  15. debbiebakerburns says:

    Great tips! The last time I traveled by plane I, also, got by with just one carry-on and I was very proud of myself! Debbie @ ilovemylemonadelife.com

  16. Pingback: Linkin' Park Friday #2 | Fashion Wows

  17. Pingback: IFB’s Links a la Mode | She's All Smiles

  18. Pingback: Diane von Furstenberg Just Gets Me | asimplestatement

  19. Pingback: Links à la Mode: The IFB Weekly Roundup | FOXY OXIE SUPERNOVA

Leave a Reply

